New!

Discussion in 'General Cattle Discussion' started by Hereford_Show_Girl, Jan 16, 2014.

1. Hereford_Show_Girl

Hereford_Show_Girl New Member

Hello, my name is AnnaLisa and I show registered Hereford cattle, but we also are starting a breeding business on the side. Anyone want to give me some pointers on What are some good beef breeds to cross? ImageUploadedByCattle Forum1389918085.654703.jpg

2. Fairfarmhand

Fairfarmhand New Member

Around here, a very popular cross is Black Angus/Hereford. Our Hereford angus crosses grow incredibly well. They also sell very well.

3. Hereford_Show_Girl

Thank you! We have been thinking about black angus, but also Simmental.... Opinions on that?

4. cattleman1253

cattleman1253 New Member

Simmital l is a decent Breed of cow but I highly recommend black Angus I've been raising black Angus for going on 17 years and you can't beat them. They're one of the most outstanding breeds of cattle out there and I'm not just saying that, from experience and from other producers I know that a well taken care of black Angus breeding program can be very very rewarding and Will make you money in the long run out of anything black Angus is the best for a breeding program especially they have the best disposition and black-hide cattle always does better in Sell barn if you were still feeder steers for example, that are black off the mamas. Black Angus cattle will always be the number one business marketing breed of cattle this is the number one Breed of beef cattle in the nation for purebred cattle and sticks with its name of " The Business Breed".

5. Hereford_Show_Girl

Thank you! I think I will go with black angus!

6. DoubleR

DoubleR Repro Lover

I agree with Cattleman1253. A smart cross would be black angus.
    I know in our area they are the far superior money makers.

7. aidan

aidan New Member