Sick cow!

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Raywood, Nov 3, 2014.

1. Raywood

Raywood New Member

Hi I'm new to this, I have feedlot cattle and breeding droughtmasters! I live in qld Australia, last week our feedlot cattle got grain poisoning and 6 recovered and are fine but theirs 1 big boy that went down Sunday morning and has not got up yet, he can't do anything but breath, he's had antibiotics and vitaman B injections, today I put the hose in his mouth to get him to drink and he swallowed a few times then did the first poo since going down and attempted to stand but he could not, has anyone experienced this before and I'm expecting him to die but would love if he didn't , so if anyone's got any tricks or methods they have used and it worked please let me know as he's running out of time, thank you

2. DoubleR

DoubleR Repro Lover

First off welcome to the forum!
    How's the big guy doing?

3. Raywood

Raywood New Member

Thanks, after 5 days of no water we had to put him down, he could not lift his head anymore so was kinder to him to shoot him, but on the upside the other 6 that went down with it are all recovered and thriving again .

4. DoubleR

DoubleR Repro Lover

Awe bummer but congrats on saving the rest! :)
    We're a newer forum but growing everyday. Stick around! We're happy to have you!

5. DoubleR

DoubleR Repro Lover

A recommendation if this ever happens again is to provide good quality probiotics.
    The vit b is great and will help with energy and appetite but probiotics help stabilize the gut a provide the good bacteria needed.
    Any sick cattle here get Vit b and probiotics right off. Especially when antibiotics are given.
    Just a suggestion. I'm not knowledgable in your neck of the woods on what's available so I can't make any suggestions on where to get it.
    If that guy got dehydrated did you give him electrolytes?
    Did these cattle bloat?

6. Raywood

Raywood New Member